Goshen County Sheriff




Welcome to the Goshen County Sheriff's Department website. This website provides you, the citizen, with valuable information related to law enforcement services for Goshen County, Wyoming. You can also contact us for questions, comments, or feedback under the ABOUT tab.



Sheriff Murphy entered law enforcement in 1978 with the Sheriff's Posse.  In 1982, he began his full-time career and was appointed Sheriff in December of 1993 and is the longest tenured current sheriff in the State of Wyoming.






Undersheriff Lowry began his career in January of 1977 working for the Scottsbluff County Sheriff's Department as both a detention officer and patrol deputy, ultimately achieving the position of investigator.  In March 1980, he then joined the ranks of the Wyoming Highway Patrol as a Trooper out of Wheatland, Wyoming and in August of 1988, he returned to Nebraska working as a police officer for the cities of Mitchell and Morrill.  In February of 1991, he joined the Goshen County Sheriff's Department as a patrol deputy and was later transferred to investigations.  In 1993, under the command of Sheriff Murphy, he was appointed to his current position as Undersheriff.  Undersheriff Lowry is second in command of the agency and is directly responsible for the patrol division.   


Lieutenant Wardell knew from a young age a career in law enforcement would make him happy. He enlisted in the Wyoming Army National Guard in 1994 and began his law enforcement career in 1998 when Sheriff Murphy hired him as a Deputy Sheriff in the Detention Division. In 2000, Lieutenant Wardell accepted a position with the Torrington Police Department.  While holding the rank of Sergeant, Lieutenant Wardell served for 4 years as a Drug Task Force Officer with the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation. Lt. Wardell received an honorable discharge from the Wyoming National Guard in 2001. In 2010, Lieutenant Wardell returned to the Sheriff's Office to accept a position as a Deputy Sheriff in the Patrol Division. In 2013, Lieutenant Wardell was appointed to 3rd in command and is directly responsible for the Detention Division.